Basement Cleanup

Well, I’ve been in Roanoke for yet another snowstorm, but this wasn’t as bad as Seneca had a couple of weeks ago. I still would not want to be on the highway between the two cities. I have mostly worked on the basement this trip – unfortunately had to cut short my hours each day as I stirred up so many allergens. I have been doing a lot of tossing things out – still finding a lot of debris from the bathroom construction, besides junk that I have accumulated, like most people do, in out-of-the-way places. I have had Habitat for Humanity pick up some big furniture items, so I do have more space to work.

office or guest room before clearing

office or guest room before clearing

office or guest room partly staged

office or guest room partly staged

 

I have cleared almost half of the basement, and have started to move around the things I have for staging a den and an office/guest room. It is just too chilly to scrub the floor this trip, so I have to be satisfied with a good sweeping. I have one corner swept and various boxes collecting items for either myself (in specific categories) or Goodwill. There are a lot of large trash bags, too. Very satisfying to get rid of stuff.

den space before cleanup

den space before cleanup

den space during sorting, lots now in trash

den space during sorting, lots now in trash

On a sad note, I lost a friend yesterday. She was in hospice care for the past 6 or 7 months, so it was not unexpected, and she said she was ready and at peace. At least Sharon and I got to see her briefly the day before I came back to Roanoke. It is still sad to lose someone dear.

This morning was the first day I heard a lot of bird calls in the early morning. I usually take that as a good sign of spring finally being near. To me it is still awfully cold and I will be happy to get back to Seneca with low 70s this weekend.

When I was here in January right after the extreme cold spell, I thought my
camellia had survived, but this trip I do not see any buds left. It is a gamble
in this climate, even in a protected location. The shrub itself looks very
good.

Tags:

One response to “Basement Cleanup”

  1. Phyllis says :

    You are getting a lot done! Do you wear a dust mask to help?

Leave a Reply

