Brr!

Wow it is so blustery and cold today! Temperature is 37, with wind chill to about 27 and gusts up to 40 mph. That wouldn’t be so bad, but I had to run outside to catch my porch – it is only a metal framework with a nylon canopy – I took the screening down earlier this fall. The wind has been pretty high in the past, but today even the heavy concrete blocks on the feet did not hold it down. I was lucky I was home and sitting just inside the back door when it started to move. I was freezing before I could anchor it briefly and go back inside for additional clothing, especially gloves. Very difficult with one person when the wind is trying to rip the fabric away, but I was able to get it off and inside the house. The framework I was able to walk back to the porch (it had blown about 8 feet before I caught it), and it should be okay to leave in place. The wind must be from a different direction, or a lot stronger, as I hear the flap on the bathroom fan rattling, a new sound.

Porch framework without canopy - rockers down from wind.  Cold but gorgeous sky.

Porch framework without canopy – rockers down from wind. Cold but gorgeous sky.

I put up insulated draperies this week, over both doors. The heater seemed to be running all the time, and I felt it needed a little help keeping the cold out. It does make the inside feel a bit smaller, but they will come down once the weather warms up. I’ll see with the next electric bill if they are helping.

The crew was out just before the holidays to take care of installing Sharon’s gas heater – which we LOVE – and to change the outdoor faucets on the line to my cottage to field faucets, which allow the water to drain back underground when shut off, preventing freezing. I am so glad we got that done before this weather change, I sure don’t want any more water pipe breaks.

Soup weather – I have been working on quite a few crock pot recipes, and actually enjoying the cooking. I expect to have a full freezer before long, as I don’t want to get tired of a recipe, so I portion and freeze it after a couple of meals. I hope won’t have to go out in the bad weather as often. I am not a fan of winter, but am making do – snuggling under a soft and warm throw with a book is good.

I hope everyone is staying warm during this freezing spell.

One response to “Brr!”

  1. Phyllis says :

    We are expecting 0 degrees tonight plus strong wind, which will be a wind chill of about -15. I had a porch canopy for a long time and would take the fabric off every winter, just leave the frame up. That helps it last longer. Keep warm!

Leave a Reply

