Final Approval on Bath

exterior of new bathroom

exterior of new bathroom

The bathroom was approved Thursday afternoon. The crew was mostly packed and ready, so headed for SC about 2:30. Unfortunately, their van had been limping along since they turned off the freeway into Roanoke, and I understand it died along the way. Doug had sort of expected it and had contingency plans, but they got home late.

new springs on door in fixed up garage

new springs on door in fixed up garage

I was out in the afternoon, arrived home to open the garage door and pull the car in, when I spotted a spring hanging down. My father replaced the springs 19 years ago, and I can’t remember if they’d been replaced since. I was able to reach the garage door company a few blocks away and they schedule repairs this morning. It was just replacement of the springs, no other damage, so I am glad it happened when it did. Besides using the room as a workshop with equipment stored, the crew finished painting the ceiling and walls, replaced the leaking ancient faucet, and replaced some rotting wood around the door frame. The garage looks good. A big plus, this house and the neighbor are the only houses with attached garages on this block.

The new bathroom has an unfinished floor, but usable fixtures. I still need to add a little hardware – towel bar, toilet paper holder, doorknobs on vanity, shower curtain and bar. It is quite big.

new shower, shelves to right

new shower, shelves to right

new sink and commode

new sink and commode

 

I am doing some cleanup today, but not a major scrub. Next trip I will start that and staging. I still have quite a bit of yard work, although we did enough trimming to make the house visible and neater from the street.

progress on front yard

progress on front yard

After a few years of living with a messy kitchen floor, I realized I did not have time to refinish the hardwood floor and repair the water damage, which would probably need paint, not polyurethane. The crew put down luan and vinyl, plus the quarter round to finish it. I am happy with the look, and even happier to have it done relatively fast. Doug might argue with that, as he had a lot of measurements to go around corners and radiators and appliances.

new kitchen floor

Leave a Reply

