Polishing Up the Old House

what an improvement to have white walls in the basement

what an improvement to have white walls in the basement

Almost all of the painting has been completed; the new bathroom is now awaiting inspection Monday, with final inspection a couple of days after that, if all goes well. The screened porch is re-windowframed and new screening is going up, new door is installed. Well, not really new, as I had saved my old screen/storm door a few years ago when I had the back door replaced. The front porch railing has been repaired and painted. lots of little repairs that would take me a long time are done.

new bathroom with shower stall

new bathroom with shower stall

There’s a good bit of landscaping work, and I haven’t been able to dig into my stuff in the basement, as it is crowded with construction. I’ll have quite bit for Goodwill to pick up. I have a lot of throw-aways in my attic. It’s not a
good idea to have long-term storage in a room that gets so hot in the summer, as things deteriorate.

front railing repaired and painted - holly bush behind really needs pruning

front railing repaired and painted – holly bush behind really needs pruning

I admit to having a wish list that may apply more to my wants for the house, and I have to keep re-evaluating and eliminating all but necessary changes. I am finding it hard to get used to the lighter paint colors, but I knew they
were needed. It sure looks good to have freshly painted walls. The living room looks great, but I wouldn’t want to live in it. My taste is for more saturated colors and a cozier feel. It is airy and bright and feels large – it is rather large for the neighborhood. I am starting to think more about the next house (the cottage has always been temporary in my plans) and what colors and designs I will have. One definite, I do not plan to put up any type of wallpaper – removal is such a pain!

painting done in living room - light makes it look yellow, actually the color is more accurate in doorway at the right

painting done in living room – light makes it look yellow, actually the color is more accurate in doorway at the right

Leave a Reply

