Meanwhile, Back in Virginia

I spent a while in VA, working on the old house and doing some health things – a few doctor appointments. My former company is switching insurance providers and I want to make sure the doctor I choose in SC is in the plan. It seemed easier to just visit the doctor I have been seeing instead of a hurried switch. It was a good thing to see him and discuss the move and handling getting paperwork transferred, plus get my prescriptions refilled.

While I was at the house, I was told the huge sycamore across the street was mostly dead and had dropped a large limb, smashing my neighbors’ car. Since they have small children who played in the yard, it had to go. I got a front row seat to watch it come down. I never heard anyone say how tall, but think the tree must have been 100 feet, with over 4 foot diameter. The matching tree on the other side of the property is till healthy. The tree company trimmed out any bad branches in it and the one large one which overhung the house and yard. Here’s shots from the first day, which was cloudy and a light rain at times.

I took the pictures from my front window, where there were more shrub branches than I noticed.

cutting branches from bucket truck

cutting branches from bucket truck

 

low branches gone, now from crane

low branches gone, now from crane

final branches

final branches

ready to start on trunk

ready to start on trunk

At this point, they used the crane to hold a strap around the top of the trunk, while a man in the bucket truck cut across at a good length. Then the crane operator maneuvered it into a truck bed. There were three large trunk pieces.

trunk cutting

trunk cutting

very large notch at base, made with a huge chain saw

very large notch at base, made with a huge chain saw

Of course, I did not notice until later that my leaves hid a lot of the base in this picture, sorry for the oversight, but you can get a sense of the size of tree and equipment with which they were working.

tree is down

tree is down

placing last of trunk into the truck

placing last of trunk into the truck

end of day one, tree is gone

end of day one, tree is gone

You can see how clear it is above the house and yard, so cars and people are now safe. The next day the crew returned and completely cleaned up the debris.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Meanwhile, Back in Virginia”

  1. Myrle Diefendorf says :

    Wow, that was something to see.

Leave a Reply

