More About the Old House

All of the pictures below are from construction time, still a little unfinished, but give you an idea of what I’ve done.

I have had recent remodels done to both the kitchen and bathroom. I did some major upgrades before that, so the house is in good shape and has a ‘wow’ factor in both the important rooms. The kitchen, like the house itself, is not big, but I have put in one full wall of pantry, floor to ceiling. The layout is pretty good now, and I splurged on solid surface counters with an integrated sink. The floor is hardwood, but has water damage. I had thought I’d refinish it and paint to cover the damage, but for speed I am now going to have vinyl put down.

new kitchen

new kitchen

kitchen pantry

kitchen pantry

The bathroom was expanded to use a bedroom closet and the linen closet. I splurged on some furniture pieces, with a cabinet and vessel sink, other storage all to match in dark wood. It has a nice deep tub that holds heat for an hour’s soak. The room is very spa-like. I am really going to miss this luxury I gave myself.

roomy bathroom

roomy bathroom

great shower and tub

great shower and tub

The back bedroom was about the same size as the front, but still needed more storage space. I decided to take the whole back wall, with a second closet from corner to window, and a window seat continuing to the other wall. Under the window seat, I have a covered compartment that holds 4 small window air conditioners during off-season. Those devices are difficult to cart up and down stairs, so this is much more convenient for me. During the summer it gives me storage for blankets and quilts. I lost a good bit of floor space, but again, will not need a dresser, and the window seat is not visually bulky.

new closet and window seat

new closet and window seat

Tags:

Leave a Reply

