More Interior Pictures

In the personal part of the dome, I have cozier lights, a couple of chandeliers from IKEA that are modern but about as casual as a chandelier can be. I finally finished assembling and had the bathroom cabinets mounted securely to the wall. It gives me a full-length mirror and a lot of shelves inside, some outside with easy access for everyday use.

bathroom with storage

bathroom with storage

The solar tube in the small side of the bathroom/laundry gives wonderful light all day and a little on nights with a full moon. Somehow I overlooked putting an outlet in that side with water heater (has its own connection), toilet and storage. Now I need a nightlight, but I have a battery operated motion sensitive light that I put on a shelf where it won’t pick up cat movement. I will also be bringing a three panel room divider to block the water heater and give a little soft surface in that room. It is a tight little room, water closet I think is the proper description, not good for someone with really long legs, but it is sufficient. I intentionally left out a door between the two sides to prevent claustrophobia. There is a door from the bedroom that can be closed for privacy. I got a surprise the other day to find a cute orange face looking down on me, no privacy from cats.

Leo, my athlete, on top of bathroom wall

Leo, my athlete, on top of bathroom wall

I keep moving the cat furniture around the bedroom. I got two large carpeted boxes for litter boxes, hoping to muffle sound and scent. I am keeping the openings pointed away from the bed, so I don’t hear scratching at night. Scent is not a problem if I scoop them daily. They do add a couple of seats in the bedroom, good height for putting on shoes or a cat’s nap.

Kinsey enjoying the window

Kinsey enjoying the window

corner office. no window

corner office. no window

I have swapped the places I’d planned for desk and cat boxes, but they may swap back, as I just cannot decide what is most convenient. The bedroom is a good size, even with a queen bed and headboard. The drawers under the bed were a good choice for storage. I got a memory foam mattress, which I like, but would not have gotten one 11 inches deep, had I realized how little give there is. I really have to climb up into bed, between the mattress and platform height. The closet is surprisingly large, but I had to be careful of where the poles are attached – the one outer wall is foam, no stud to attach anything. It would not be great for someone with tons of clothes, but I’m retired and don’t have much to hang up, casual as much as possible. The patio doors with blinds between the glass are working very well. I am waiting to see if I want to bother with curtains – for either darkness for an afternoon nap or heat/cold through the glass.

bedroom

bedroom

Having turned the headboard, I have a nice space to store my knitting and beading supplies, out of sight, yet handier than above in the loft. Since I’m not very steady on ladders any more, I may not store anything in the loft now.

craft storage

craft storage

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

