Final Stretch!

It looks like we are in the final week! It’s a very good thing, because my budget and resources have reached crunch time. I have decided to place a hold on some items, like painting the exterior (white primer will do for now) and grading. It will be fully livable and mostly complete on the inside, and the delay will allow a few other items to be done. I have been acquiring things online and on sale, saving quite a bit for now. Since I expect this to be a showcase of a local dome, I have some upscale looks for it, just not the tile I wanted inside. I will have to keep it visitor-ready at all times, lots of housekeeping.

It's cool to be parked in front of my new home.

It’s cool to be parked in front of my new home.

Things are coming along all right. The plumbers will be here to finish connections, probably Monday. We’ll have the inspectors out for final approval for occupancy later in the week. There is a coat of semi-transparent stain on the concrete floor, giving a mottled look of color, enough to hide some imperfections. Next it gets a high-gloss sealer, which I expect will make wax unnecessary. Once the floor is done, I plan to start moving in furniture and the rest of the appliances. The bed platform with drawers will take some work to assemble.

Living room with stained floor

Living room with stained floor

We have been verging on summery weather this past week. I sure hope we don’t go near freezing again this spring. Sharon is really into gardening mode, spending much of her daytime in the yard. She has really transformed a neglected place into a garden site. She is making plans for a second income via her gardening, starting slowly this year. It is very promising. We had a heavy rain last week, and there was very little puddling around the cottage, but the clay was wet and sticky. We are using scraps from wallboard for sidewalks, and they work quite well. Eventually the gypsum will break down into the clay and make it workable soil.

So pretty, but so invasive - wisteria on the neighbors side of the fence.

So pretty, but so invasive – wisteria on the neighbors side of the fence.

It is getting exciting, and I am looking forward to installing the crystals globes on the chandeliers, but not until after the last coat is on the floor. Once furniture is in, they will be protected from people walking into them or bumping with equipment. I did put up the one in the bedroom, because it is plastic and will protect the bulb. I can hardly wait until the cats get to explore their new place. The two boys seem to have spring fever or are just tired of being stuck in one room of the house, they are ready to explore in spite of
the dogs.

The bedroom chandelier is from IKEA, I just completed assembly - my dandelion light.

The bedroom chandelier is from IKEA, I just completed assembly – my dandelion light.

Broom closet completed

Broom closet completed

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Final Stretch!”

  1. Myrle Diefendorf says :

    Good job! It really looks good and very live able. Come see the flowers sometime soon.. Azaleas are out. Kwazan cherry is blooming. Myrle

Leave a Reply

